Wednesday, May 11, 2005

Last night in New York City

On May 10, 2005, the Publishing Triangle presented their literary awards in New York City at the New School Auditorium in the Village.

The winners were:

The Randy Shilts Award for Gay Nonfiction
David K. Johnson, The Lavender Scare: The Cold War Persecution of Gays and Lesbians in the Federal Government (University of Chicago Press)

The Judy Grahn Award for Lesbian Nonfiction
Alison Smith, Name All the Animals (Scribner)

The Ferro-Grumley Awards for Fiction: Men
Adam Berlin, Belmondo Style (St. Martin's Press)

The Ferro-Grumley Award for Fiction: Women
Stacey D'Erasmo, A Seahorse Year (Houghton Mifflin)

The Thom Gunn Award for Gay Male Poetry
Carl Phillips, The Rest of Love (Farrar Strauss Giroux)

The Audre Lorde Award for Lesbian Poetry
Maureen Seaton, Venus Examines Her Breast (Carnegie Mellon University Press)

The Robert Chesley Foundation presented its 2004 awards in Playwriting to Michael Kearns (Lifetime Achievement Award) and Jorge Ignacio Cortiñas (Emerging Artist). The recipient of the 2005 Bill Whitehead Award for Lifetime Achievement was Edward Field. In addition, the Publishing Triangle presented a special Leadership Award to The Lesbian Herstory Archives, the largest and oldest lesbian archive in the world.